No Sleep for the Documentarian

I have found myself staying up long nights in search of a few more hours to work each day on the film Energy, Oh Energy.  I have a dream of a world with 48 hours in the day.  For now though, I guess I’m going to have to deal with only having 24.  10:30 pm has become more of a lunch break than a bedtime.  The interviews have continued and the most recent perspective has dealt with the idea of distributed energy.  I don’t want to reveal too many details though!  I am still maintaining my nonbiased approach.  It has been difficult though, not because I prefer a particular energy, but rather because people are stereotyping me based on the little information they have received.  One of the things I have found interesting is that because I chose to ride my bike around Wyoming, I have been called “green” and “having an agenda”.  Since when did riding your bike become a political statement?  If this is the case, we have a strong politically active youth on our hands.  What ever happened to just riding your bike because it was cheap, fun, and easy?  That’s the only statement I want to make.  I enjoy bike riding and stereotypes aren’t going stand in the way of me doing what I love.  Just to show everyone that I don’t have an alternative agenda, I have included a link to a clip of me riding my bike 5-6 years ago before I even knew what a megawatt was.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msRN0MvA9Ro

My advice to anyone viewing this film is to go in with an open mind.  I am striving to create an objective perspective on the idea of energy and I can assure you that I do not have an alternative motive or agenda.  I am simply exploring a current issue and going where it takes me.

Speaking of going where this film takes me, I will be leaving for New York City this Saturday for 7 days.  I will be attending the IFP Filmmaker Conference for 5 days and shooting for Energy, Oh Energy the other two days.  One of the major players in the energy conversation is the consumer.  We use energy and lots of it so what better place to look at consumption than the largest city in the US?

The road has proven long and full of obstacles.  I haven’t found the best type of energy yet, but one thing is for sure, I’m not giving up.  I will be in Salt Lake City after New York and then Phoenix, and then hopefully Portland to look at some of the issues surrounding the power grid.  Tired?  Yes.  Burned out?  Never.  How could a company called Burning Torch Productions get burned out?  One of the reasons I love what I do is because of the journey it takes me on.  Burning out isn’t an option.  Light has been a symbol of knowledge and inspiration throughout history and the torch is one of the simplest forms of light.  Our goal at BTP is to keep the torch burning through the night and to bring light to otherwise shadowed areas.  Sometimes this involves doing whatever it takes.  I’m prepared to take the torch wherever the darkness leads.

Leave a Reply

