Good music? Sure.

The holiday season is here and I have a present for your viewing pleasure.  I have been putting in countless hours editing Energy! O Energy! and didn’t realize that I haven’t uploaded any clips from the film since training!  It has been far too long without at least something to watch.  I decided to edit some of the footage together from the ride to some music by the one and only Johnny Cash.  The song is “God’s Gonna Cut You Down” performed by Johnny Cash.  The original writer of the song is unknown and can be characterized as a folk song.  Out of all of the versions though, Johnny Cash sings the roof off with this one.  The industrial beat really matches the footage well.  It isn’t a trailer but at least it’s something to kill a few minutes at work while your boss steps out.  (You don’t do that, do you?)  As always, I appreciate the messages, “likes”, emails, RTs, and comments.  If you like the clip, post it to your facebook or twitter.  Let’s see how many views we can get.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NXCjbccG7c8

I am shooting to have an official trailer by 2012.   Between traveling for interviews and processing the footage, I haven’t had the time to put together something that I like.  Speaking of interviews, I just got back from Casper, Wyoming where I talked to Jeremy Fugleberg at the Casper Star-Tribune.  He is the energy reporter for Wyoming, which means he writes about energy in about every form in Wyoming.  I finally got to ask some of my “big picture” questions.  Just wait until you hear some of the questions that I’ve begin to explore.  The film is taking a whole new turn.  I am working on securing a few more interviews though.  It seems that I just can’t find an answer to my question of what the best type of energy is.  Every time I talk with someone, I uncover something new to explore.  My newest idea deals with distribution.  The energy isn’t being made without reason.  We are the consumers and we need energy.  This is where the grid comes into play.  What’s the grid, you say?  Well, if things go as planned, I’ll be heading to Portland, Oregon to find out.

In the mean time I’ll leave you with some pictures.  This is what happens when I get let out of the editing cage.  I don’t think the human mind or body is designed to roam freely, biking around the country and then just stop and edit video for days at a time.  These aren’t photoshopped and we didn’t use any manipulative angles.  It’s just a very large amount of suppressed “energy” that I needed to get out.


Leave a Reply

