Photos, Surf, and Cities

What matters more, the thing that brought you there, or what you did once you were you got there? Everyone always talks about “taking a trip”, but what does that mean? Are you really in control, and if you are, are you actually having fun? There were a number of things that brought me out to the east coast for the next 3 weeks, but none of those things were to “take a trip”. Eventually you have to just let go and let the trip take you, as cliché as that may sound.

I wouldn’t call myself a horse fanatic but when I found out the Belmont Stakes horse race was happening only 7 miles from where I sat in the airport in New York City, I had to let my trip take me.

Surfing is all about being in the hot sun and lying on the beach, but not in Boston. After a few days in NYC I took a detour up to Boston. Moving from one city to the next usually isn’t the stereotypical idea you think of when you want to escape the hustle and bustle for a while, but where there’s surf, there’s sanctuary. Surfing is one of those things that you’re probably saying is overrated, unless you’re a surfer. When you’re hungry, you eat because it just feels right. But what about when you just need to take a break from it all, what do you do? As strange as it may seem coming from a land locked kid from Wyoming, I find an ocean…

All of this talk of food is making me hungry though, and the evening tide is bringing in some nice waves. That’s where I’ll be.

Mark

One response to “Photos, Surf, and Cities

Leave a Reply

